Dog Licenses

Did you know?


Michigan Law requires dogs over 4 months of age, newly purchased/ acquired, or are just becoming Michigan residents obtain a Michigan Dog License.  Grand Traverse County uses 100% of revenue generated thru dog licenses to provide Animal Control Services to residents.
 

Importance of Licensing


  • Excellent identification system: Licensing your pet provides us the information needed to inform individuals or Animal Control of your contact information if your lost pet is found.
  • It ensures that your dog is rabies vaccinated.
  • It provides proof that the dog legally belongs to you.
  • It's the law.

First Time License Purchases

Please stop by  office or one of our authorized Licensing Locations.  Please bring your current/valid rabies certificate. A certificate of sterilization is also required if the information is not stated on the rabies certificate or is incorrect.  Rabies certificates will be returned to you for your records

Renewing Licenses


We will notify you via mail 1 to 2 months before your license expires.  

If your veterinarian is one of our authorized Licensing Locations you may purchase a new license when your dog receives their rabies vaccination.

You can also renew in person at our office or via mail.  You will be required to provide a current and valid rabies certificate.  A certificate of sterilization is also required if the information is not stated on the rabies certificate or is incorrect.  Rabies certificates will be returned to you for your records.

Payments can be mailed to our office:

Grand Traverse County Treasurer's Office
400 Boardman Ave.
Traverse City, MI  49684

Please make checks payable to:  "G.T. County Treasurer".  DO NOT send cash.

Please reference your phone number on your check so we may contact you if we have questions on your renewal.

Replacements

If your dog has lost their collar or if your license number no longer legible please contact our office. We can assist getting you a free replacement!

Licensing Fees Effective 1/1/2017

*Puppy License only available to dogs who are 8 months or younger.
License Type Non- Sterilized Dogs Sterilized Dogs
Puppy* $8.00 $8.00
1-Year $30.00 $15.00
3-Year $60.00 $30.00

Microchips & Tattoo Identifications


For Microchip implantation and registration for dogs contact your veterinarian. A statewide tattoo identification registry for dogs is maintained by the Michigan Department of Agriculture (MDA). For additional information, please call 517-241-2748 or visit the MDA website. Published pursuant to PA 55one of 2006.